Ask Stash

Contact

Home > About Stash

How do I close my account?

Last updated: July 11, 2018

Are you sure you want to close your account?  Stash does not charge a fee if you have no money in your Stash account for the full 30 previous days. If you wish to preserve your account, you may do so free of charge.

Still want to close your account? You can do so through the following steps:

  1. Turn off Auto-Stash and Smart-Save to ensure that no further transfers are pulled from your bank. To learn how to turn off Auto-Stash, click here. To learn how to turn off Smart-Save, click here.
  2. Sell all of your investments (it takes 2 business days for the money to settle after you sell your investments).
  3. After the settlement period, you can withdraw funds to your bank account, provided they have been in your Stash account for at least 5 business days.
  4. If you close your account, you will still receive your final account statement for the last month the account was open. You may also receive transaction notifications for transactions that occurred while your account was open.

If you don’t want to preserve your account, click here for more information.

Please note: there is no Stash fee when you have no money in your Stash account. However, you may be charged a final fee based on an average daily balance calculated over the last 30 day period.

Search questions
we've already answered.